New for Diaper Bags – Coming October 2014

I collect diaper bags like growing families collect strollers: I’ve got a bag for a baby, a bag for a toddler, a bag for if I have both baby and toddler in tow… a bag for the park, a bag for a quick trip to the store … I think you get the drift. A few months ago, when my first babe was around 2 and my baby wasn’t even out of the womb, I was so completely tired of any diaper bag. It was probably hormones, but I felt like my closet was chock full of beautiful satchels and totes – that I had collected over the years before I had any kids – calling, “Hey! Do you see us? It’s been 2 years! We want to see the light!”

With the massive size of some of them, I started to give it a try. First, I had some fun with my Kate Spade “All Typed Up Clyde” satchel:

alltyped

I used the front zipper section for my cell phone, keys and diaper wipes and the inside had some pockets so I kept my wallet, diapers, a change of clothes (for the little one) and some snacks in there. It worked quite well for a few weeks. But it was heavy.

As the baby in my belly grew, my knees were already struggling with too much weight so I I had to switch it up. I was looking for something similarly big but not so heavy. The Longchamp seemed perfect:

longchamp

 

To be honest, the Longchamp worked pretty well because it’s roomy, the material was durable and the fabric was easy to wipe clean. My one (pretty big) complaint: It was a black abyss of nothingness and everything. Sure, I looked sophisticated when I showed up with my kid and this bag in tow but when it was time to leave, I had to nearly empty all its contents to a table or the floor just to find my keys; not so sophisticated anymore.

When my baby was born earlier in the year, the volume of items needed to leave the house nearly quadrupled so I retired any real bag and went back to my collection of diaper bags. They’re all functional, but let’s compare … would you want to carry this or one of the bags above?

EB

One of the bags above! Yeah. Me too. So you can only imagine my extreme delight as I recently came across a company that is offering a product that TURNS YOUR HANDBAG INTO A DIAPER BAG. [Gasp!] Yes. The company’s called Life in Play and they make an insert that goes into regular handbags but makes them functional for Moms (or maybe even just those who like being extremely organized):

inside

 

 

Would this insert be good for one of your handbags? It’s easy to find out with their measurement guide. If your bag has a width of 14″ or wider, a height of 10″ or taller, and a depth of 3″ or wider, then you’re in luck! Not only could you keep using all your favorite bags, but with this 1 insert, you could suddenly have several bags that are perfect for holding all your little gear.

If you need an idea of some totes that this item pairs with well, Life In Play has also already put together a collection of their favorite totes – CLICK HERE.

Are you excited? I know I am. I’ve been hearing things lately and it’s not just a crying baby. I believe it’s my Longchamp hollering, “Hello? Is anybody out there?”

Leave a Reply

