I don’t want to buy clothes that I’m only going to wear for 9 months …

Hope you’re having a good day everyone! I have a secret that I’ve been holding onto for a few weeks months now and I’m finally ready to spill the beans.

You ready?

IMG_8271

Wait for it …

I’m 9 months post-partum and I am still wearing my maternity jeans:

IMG_8270

 

Is that as mind-blowing as you thought it was going to be? Probably not. And is it a shocker that a woman did not “bounce back” to her old body after having a baby? No. But you know why I’m telling you? Because I hear time and time again, “I don’t want to spend a lot of money on clothes I’m only going to wear for a few months” and I’m hear to tell you it might be longer than you think.

This post is not meant to instill fear about what maternity does to your body – it’s my way of saying, “Do those pants feel comfortable? Do you look good? Do you feel special in that shirt? Then buy it!” It blows my mind, time and time again, how women go into a store and have no problem dropping $50-$100+ on clothes when they are not pregnant but struggle to spend any money on clothes while they are growing a human. I mean – our body is ever changing, so why do you have to deprive yourself of looking and feeling good while you’re also experiencing a very special time in your life?

For the record, I have not kept these maternity jeans because I can’t or won’t be able to lose my “baby weight.” I lost it all with my first child and have about 15 more pounds to go [and I know I can/will do it] … I keep wearing them because they’re comfortable, I think they look good (this picture excluded – seeing as I just snapped these photos while my kids are both still sleeping!) and I don’t see why I should have to stop wearing them just because they’re “maternity.” I mean – sure they look a little Steve Urkel-ish, but that’s only when I lift up my shirt to show you, right? I decided long ago that even when I lose my last 15 pounds [and can thus fit into all my “non-maternity” pants] I will probably still hold onto these jeans until I die – just for Thanksgiving.

So what are you waiting for?

The baby just woke up. I have to go! Until next time,

Elena


Maternity Girl sells new and resale Maternity and Nursing apparel all over Pittsburgh. You can shop online (the online store is a work in progress) or make an appointment if you live in the Pittsburgh region. Styling services for breastfeeding and maternity photoshoots are also available and if you’re struggling to find a dress, guess what? Maternity Girl rents those too! Follow her on Facebook for more cool ramblings and giveaways – just be sure to “Follow” after you “Like” the page so you’re always in the know.

 

One thought on “I don’t want to buy clothes that I’m only going to wear for 9 months …

  1. Pingback: #nursingootd | Pregnant in Pittsburgh

Leave a Reply

